The best order to watch Marvel movies

There are two definitive ways in which to watch the full list of Marvel movies. The first is for fans that haven’t yet seen the movies and want to dive right in. The second is for fans who have already seen the movies and want to watch them over and over again. In this post we will cover both options. The first order of Marvel movies below is for the newbies and this will be in order of release.

If you’re a newcomer to the MCU, first of all, welcome. Secondly, you should be aware that if you plan to watch the full list, not all of the movies are on Disney Plus. Due to distribution rights issues and other boring legal stuff, you will have to find another way to watch ‘The Incredible Hulk’, ‘Spider-Man: Homecoming’ and ‘Spider-Man: Far From Home’. These three movies are the only three movies not on the Disney Plus platform. These movies are always available to purchase or rent from YouTube and are sometimes added to the libraries of movies on Amazon’s Prime Video or Netflix.

The crucial reasoning behind there being two different ways to watch the MCU is mainly due to the post-credit scenes. If newbies decide to watch the movies chronologically (according to the events within the MCU timeline) then the post-credit scenes will make absolutely no sense at all. This is why we have laid out the perfect order in which to watch below.

So without further adieu, this is the order in which newbies should start watching Marvel movies:

How to watch the Marvel movies in order (for newbies):

Marvel Movies
  • Phase 1
    • Iron Man (2008)
    • The Incredible Hulk (2008)
    • Iron Man 2 (2010)
    • Thor (2011)
    • Captain America: The First Avenger (2011)
    • Avengers Assemble (2012)
  • Phase 2
    • Iron Man 3 (2013)
    • Thor: The Dark World (2013)
    • Captain America: The Winter Soldier (2014)
    • Guardians of the Galaxy (2014)
    • Avengers: Age of Ultron (2015)
    • Ant-Man (2015)
  • Phase 3
    • Captain America: Civil War (2016)
    • Doctor Strange (2016)
    • Guardians of the Galaxy Vol.2 (2017)
    • Spider-Man: Homecoming (2017)
    • Thor: Ragnarok (2017)
    • Black Panther (2018)
    • Avengers: Infinity War (2018)
    • Ant-Man and The Wasp (2018)
    • Captain Marvel (2019)
    • Avengers: Endgame (2019)
    • Spider-Man: Far from home (2019)

As it stand, this is the entirety of movies within the Marvel Cinematic Universe. It’s worth noting that there are other Marvel movies out there that are not part of the MCU. The X-Men, Deadpool and Blade movies all contain Marvel characters but none of these are relevant or have anything to do with the events of the MCU at this point in time. All of these characters however are planned to be rebooted and brought into the MCU for future movies. We will make sure to update this list once that happens.

Now, if you’ve already seen the movies and are coming back for round 2 (or round 10, like me) you have the luxury of watching in chronological order. Sure, the post-credit scenes won’t make any sense whatsoever, but considering you already know what happens, that doesn’t really matter. You will be starting with ‘Captain America: The First Avenger‘ during World War 2 and finishing in the year 2023 with ‘Spider-Man: Far from home‘. That’s one hell of a ride.

So, if you’ve already seen the Marvel movies, chronological order is the way to go. Here is the list of how to watch the Marvel movies in order of the events within the MCU timeline, for the more advanced Marvel fan:

Marvel Movies in order (Chronological)

  1. Captain America: The First Avenger
  2. Captain Marvel
  3. Iron Man
  4. Iron Man 2
  5. The Incredible Hulk
  6. Thor
  7. Avengers Assemble
  8. Iron Man 3
  9. Thor: The Dark World
  10. Captain America: The Winter Soldier
  11. Guardians of the Galaxy
  12. Guardians of the Galaxy Vol.2
  13. Avengers: Age of Ultron
  14. Ant-Man
  15. Captain America: Civil War
  16. Spider-Man: Homecoming
  17. Doctor Strange
  18. Black Panther
  19. Thor: Ragnarok
  20. Avengers: Infinity War
  21. Ant-Man and The Wasp
  22. Avengers: Endgame
  23. Spider-Man: Far from home

As you will see from the list above, the order becomes very different when you look at it chronologically. One of the most obvious differences being ‘Captain Marvel’, which was only released in 2019, is now second in your watch list as the movie is based in the year 1995.

The Future of Marvel

So, there you have it. The full list of Marvel Cinematic Universe movies for both newbies and Marvel veterans alike. Once you’re finished with these movies, you will be able to start on the new Marvel TV series which are exclusive to Disney Plus. These include the likes of WandaVision, Falcon and the Winter Soldier, Loki, Marvel’s What If and Hawkeye, just to name a few! All of which will be linked to the events of the movies listed above but also future movies! Marvel really has upped the game when it comes to the inter-connectivity of their projects.

We will be sure to update this list as and when Marvel release more of their blockbuster movies. How many do you think they will make? Judging by the box office numbers I don’t think they will be stopping anytime soon, that’s for sure.

So, what are you waiting for? Go start watching them now! When you’re done come back and check out some of our Marvel posts to learn all sorts of new things like How fast is Captain America? Also, let us know what you think over on our social media channels or leave a comment below. Thanks for reading.